Blausen Medical
Blausen Medical

Blausen Medical

Medically accurate and informative 3D animations


Schizophrenia Drug Classes

The five dopamine receptors are organized into two classes: • D1-like, which includes D1 and D5 receptors • D2-like, which includes the D2, D3, and D4 receptors There are many subtypes of serotonin, or 5-HT, receptors. Blockade of 5-HT2A receptors seems to indirectly increase dopamine transmission, whereas blockade of 5-HT6 and 5-HT7 receptors seems to increase overall serotonin transmission, which can also be achieved by blocking serotonin reuptake pumps or serotonin transporters (SERTs) . This latter mechanism is commonly used by antidepressants like serotonin reuptake inhibitors (SSRIs) to increase the amount of serotonin available in the synaptic cleft that binds to 5-HT receptors for serotonin transmission. Deficiencies in glutamate neurotransmission mediated through N-methyl-D-aspartate (NMDA)-type receptors, have been associated with positive, negative, and cognitive symptoms in schizophrenia. Evidence also indicates that positive, negative, and cognitive symptoms in schizophrenia may be potentially linked to pathways involving gamma-amino-butyric acid (GABA), an inhibitory neurotransmitter.

Duration: 01:55
Licence: CC - Attribution
Original Language: English
Published: 8/9/2019
Diseases and Conditions: Schizophrenia
Format: 3D Animation

Other videos in this channel


Related Videos

Schizophrenia Drug Classes

Comments (0)

Login to add your comment
Be the first to comment!